Under Pressure…

30 Mar



As the last days of classes come to an end, I am definitely under pressure. I am in a new relationship, I work almost full time and I have a multitude of final projects due in the next few days not to mention the every day life of budgeting, laundry, cooking etc…although I did finish my last university presentation this evening! Yahoo!

With that yahoo, comes a tiny bit of anxiousness though. And when I say tiny bit, I mean a lot!!! For the last ten years I always had something to fall back onto. After high school I knew I was going to university. After University I knew I was going traveling overseas for a year. After that year and a  half away, I defered a career because I knew that was not what I wanted to do..and I deferred and I deferred,…and by defer I mean travel haha. Once I decided to come back to school I had that to fall back on. Now, as I near the end of my university career I have nothing to fall back on.

In a short amount of time I will be a full fledged teacher. What if I spent all this time trying to find the right career for me, and once I get in there I hate it? Worse yet, what if I am a terrible teacher? I have nothing else to fall back on now.. I can’t just go take off for a year and travel like I did when I was younger. I am not 21 years old anymore, I am nearing 30…shudder… and I want to get married and have babies and have a career and buy a house (and travel of course)…

There’s a lot more on my mind than last day of classes bash…

How about you people?

4 Responses to “Under Pressure…”

  1. Mike Mcilveen March 30, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    Like the reflective nature of your post, that’s a good sign to be a good teacher! Learner first, become an expert in learning and you’ll not go wrong. Best wishes!

    • jhiebs12 March 30, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

      Thanks, I appreciate that.

      • Aaron April 3, 2011 at 6:17 am #

        I can relate janice. I’ve been feeling anxious about being finished and being a teacher. What if I’m not good at being a teacher? What if i don’t find a job? Everyone keeps saying how exciting it must feel to be almost done but all I can think about is all the things I still have left to finish.

        I think we need to give ourselves some credit. I think we will be great teachers. Good luck in your last week of University!

      • jhiebs12 April 4, 2011 at 6:07 am #

        Thanks Aaron, I think you will be agreat teacher too, but even though everyone keeps telling us this, I still am anxious. maybe it means I really care for once haha.

Leave a Reply

