5 Dollar Foot Long Subs….titute teachers..

27 Mar

Many people tell me that substitute teaching is the best way to start out a teaching career. I think I must respectively disagree. I know a multitude of teachers who went straight into a full time teaching contract, and they are exciting and amazing teachers. I wonder if those who say substitute teaching is imperative to your career, were only the people who couldn’t get a contract of some sort right off the bat and had to sub?

I understand a good point could be that you get to see a bunch of different schools and experience different grade levels. But do you really? Is one day in a grade 7 classroom giving you a real insight to what teaching grade 7 is like?

Leave a Reply

