Is Lulu acceptable for You You?

19 Mar

I know that each school has it’s own dress code for teachers. I was always told that you should look your best and there should be a clear difference between you and your students. I agree with that for the most part, other than a friend I have, who taught in a community school and it was found that she gained more respect by dressing down. The material division of clothing was much less between her and the students and they related to her a bit better.

That said, I think that LuluLemon should most definitely not be worn as attire for a teacher. We are professionals, and although we may not always say the right thing we should at least look the part. Wearing Lulu every day is not what I call professional, or appropriate for that matter. That clothing is made for working out and lounging around in at HOME.  Even as a phys ed teacher, I would choose to wear looser fitting clothing. There is no need to have almost spandex like clothing clinging to every curve god gave you.

I say this from seeing it in a school I worked in…it was odd…

What do you think?

9 Responses to “Is Lulu acceptable for You You?”

  1. Patricia Cone March 19, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Good to see a post about professional attire!

    Form-fitting clothing is fairly unprofessional for the most part. What has always irked me are the low-cut necklines worn by some teachers and education paraprofessionals.

  2. ashleymcdougall March 19, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    I definately agree! I find it slightly disturbing that young girl’s “role models” are wearing pants that show everything as their dress pants. As a role model I don’t believe we should be leaving that kind of an influence on the young girls. As far as the boys, I feel that it’s even worse. It’s not at all professional to have such tight pants on that young boys can see every curve. If I had a teenage boy of my own I wouldn’t want his teacher to dress like that. If we want to be treated as a professional by parents we have to be professional in every area, including attire

  3. Delaney Kirk March 20, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    I think we should remember that we are also role models for our students. If we don’t dress professionally in our jobs, how will they learn what is appropriate?

    I’ve written more about this here on my blog as well as included cute drawing from my granddaughter on dressing as a teacher.

    http://www.delaneykirk.com/2009/11/dr-kirkcat-illustrates-professional-dress.html

    • jhiebs12 March 22, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

      Those are very cute drawings haha

  4. daringtobe March 20, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

    Though I agree teachers need to maintain professionalism through their attire, I also think good teachers are able to gain respect regardless of what they wear.

    PS- Not all Lulu’s are form fitting, I have a wide loose pair of yoga pants that I wear all the time!

  5. Natasha March 20, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    This is a great post, however I disagree. I have a pair of lulu lemon pants that are black, and white pinstriped, I only wear them for dress pants. They are looser in the leg but still have the spandex feel. They are comfy, and when worn with a correct top and shoe, they look extremely professional. I understand that lulu lemon is an athletica store, however some of their items are easily worn as dresser clothes.

  6. lewchukd March 21, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    I strongly agree with your side of this argument.
    Teachers need to dress professional, to be professional.
    If we are dressing like our students, how will we gain any respect or establish a Hierarchy?

  7. kennanelson March 29, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    hmmmm…. would you say that they belong only at home? I would never wear them to school. It is unprofessional but certainly, I feel that I will wear them everywhere else. Just wondering what you classify as home and if I should not wear those pants around you anymore!!??

    • jhiebs12 March 30, 2011 at 7:03 am #

      well Ms. Nelson, I may have spoken a bit too harsh on the Lulu Lemons. I did say only at home and the gym. Of course you are able to wear your pants wherever you would like. Maybe I should have specified don’t wear them to your classroom..but then someone informed me that there are dress pant type Lulu Lemons.. I was also, until very recently against Lulu Lemon because I thought they were too expensive. I was given a pair as a present, they are comfy, and yes I do wear them to University. I still think they are too expensive but that is another issue for another time haha.
      Please continue to express your love of these sweatpants around me, as I am not judging and have come over to the dark side myself ha ha ha. 🙂

Leave a Reply

