Tech Task Numero Uno

13 Jan

Hey all, my name is Janice Hiebert and I am originally from North Battleford, Sask. Born and raised until the ripe age of 18, I eventually moved to Saskatoon where I completed my B. Comm at the U of S. The day after I graduated I flew to Singapore and accidentally fell in love with traveling; this turned into 4 years of traveling the world. I would come back to North Battleford and bartend to save up money to travel more. I realized that even though I would love to do this indefinitely it is a difficult lifestyle to maintain. Thus I needed to find a career that I would enjoy doing for a substantial part of my life and would still allow me to travel consistently. Enter the U of R BEAD program. I do not wish to have teaching become my life, but I wish to be the best teacher I can be and for it to be an important part of my life. The rest, as they say is history, and I am looking at my last four months of school… woo hoo. As you can tell, travel is a huge, overwhelming, life changing passion of mine. I also have a great love for sports and music.

I enjoy technology, but only to an extent. Of course I jumped on the facebook bandwagon. I tried to say no at first, but it is just such an easy way to keep in touch with my friends and family that do not live in Regina. I have some computer experience from my computer science class in my Commerce degree, but of course I have forgotten everything that I learned in it. I can do easy things like download pictures and show youtube videos, which I did in my grade four class a few times during internship.

I think it is very important for our students to be aware of and gain experience with computing and technology, starting at a young age. As this is obviously a focus in our society, and we will only continue to proceed in this direction, it is imperative that we introduce our kids to it in school. They may not have the same technology opportunities at home as they may at school. I do believe, however, that no computer or cell phone can replace a pencil and a piece of paper or a hands on experience.

I expect to learn a bit about technologies I can introduce into my classroom. Although, I don’t expect to use everything we talk about in this class. I expect from my instructor that he try to make it as fun as possible, because I hate being bored. I also expect that he will show us how to implement these tools in a hands on way, seeing as how we all have computers in front of us during the class.

Looking forward to expanding my “techie” abilities!

ciao,

Janice

3 Responses to “Tech Task Numero Uno”

  1. Alec Couros January 16, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    I will try to make it as fun as possible – I promise. And yes, you won’t need to use everything – but at the end of the class, I hope you become self-sufficient enough to know how to find the things you need, and the skills you need to learn.

  2. Emily Mann January 21, 2011 at 3:30 am #

    Hahaha!..accidently fell in love with travel. Such a great way to describe that moment when you realize you’ve been stung by a really expensive, exasperatingly interesting species of insect. 🙂

    • jhiebs12 January 22, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

      Ha ha, honestly it was a total accident that I began my facsination with traveling. I had hoped to have a year away in Australia, come home and find a job in marketing and begin my “real life”. I honestly never thought it would turn into an all consuming life passion 🙂 but I’m sure glad it did!

Leave a Reply

